The Distinguished Member Award


Please contact IFMA Awards of Excellence by e-mail at, or by phone at 281-609-0990, if you have any questions.

Past Winners

Dr. Sharon Jaye, D.Ed., SFP

About this Award

This award is the second highest form of recognition given to an IFMA member (the first is IFMA Fellowship, the most prestigious title bestowed by the Association). The Distinguished Member Award is presented to a Member or Associate member who has provided sustained, outstanding leadership to a chapter, council and/or the Association at the international level. This person is highly valued by his or her company, IFMA and the facility management profession. This individual keeps current on changes in the facility management profession and educates other IFMA members and peers. Recipients demonstrate the best in leadership and ethics. The judging panel will consist of the IFMA executive committee and the immediate past IFMA chair.

The nominee must have been a Member or Associate member of IFMA for at least the past three years.

Criteria & Scoring

Judges score entries based on the following criteria and point guidance. Learn more »

  1. List all positions held at the chapter/council and/or at the international level. (0-20 points)
  2. Describe how the nominee has contributed to his or her chapter and/or council. (0-20 points)
  3. Describe how the nominee has contributed to IFMA at the international level. (0-20 points)
  4. Describe how contributions by the nominee have enhanced the facility management profession. (0-20 points)
  5. What are the most significant contributions to IFMA and the facility management profession that distinguishes the nominee and entitles him/her to receive this honor? (0-20 points)

Additional Information

Specific requirements for the Distinguished Member Award:

  • Nominator must be an IFMA member in good standing (dues current).
  • Nominee must be a Member or Associate member of IFMA in good standing (dues current) at least three years.
  • Nominee must have been a facility management professional for the past five years.

General Information

  • Nominations are scored on content only, not creative presentation of the submission.
  • The submission covers activities from May 1, 2013 to April 30, 2014.
  • Submission forms are PDF documents. Get Adobe Reader
  • Submission form information should be typed or computer-generated within the PDF form.
  • Please be sure to email the completed submission form and exhibit files as email attachments to
  • Exhibits, such as booklets, pictures, are an important part of this submission.
  • All questions on the nomination form should be completed as requested.
  • Authorization should be made digitally on the PDF form.
  • Deadline for receipt of nomination at IFMA headquarters is May 12, 2014.